McCann the History Buff

This month’s Teacher of the Month is Mr. McCann. We had a chance to catch up with him this week and ask him a few questions. Here is what he had to say:

Where did you grow up?

Antigo, WI

Who/What inspired you to become a teacher?

I had a history teacher during my junior year that made history fun and enjoyable to learn about. Since then I knew I wanted to teach history and also bring fun and enjoyment to the subject as much as possible.

What is the best part about teaching?

Interacting and building a  positive rapport with the students. Also seeing those awesome “AHA” moments when they finally understand a concept or topic in class.

What is your favorite class to teach?

I like teaching them all to be honest. If I had to pick one I would say Psychology because you can do a lot of different things in class such as cool in class activities and experiments.

What do you enjoy to do outside of school?

I enjoy hanging out with my family as much as possible, especially my wonderful wife and daughter. Other than that you could most likely find me on a golf course somewhere!

If not teaching, what would you want to be doing right now?

Golfing! Thats a good question. I guess I never really thought about that…..if I had to pick, I would most likely be working outdoors somewhere. That or I would love to have my own business.

What is your ultimate goal in life?

My ultimate goal in life is to be happy and to help others as much as possible. Also to provide my daughter with as many opportunities as possible to succeed in life. Lastly, I would love to shoot in the 60’s one day!     

-Kyle Harris

Leave a Reply

